My Self Care Journey: Skincare Routine

One of the first self care habits I picked up when I began my self love journey was a skincare routine. Let me tell ya, not only is skincare important, but it’s also pretty easy to incorporate into your schedule. I find it easier to complete my skincare routine than take a shower on my bad days. I also learned you don’t need to a lot money to have a decent skincare routine. So without further ado, I’ll give you the rundown of my routine & a list of my favorite products to use.

First off, I am not a skin expert by ANY means so please use this information at your own discretion. If you have any questions or concerns about your skin, please consult a doctor! I can only tell you what works for me and every single body is unique. Anyways! My routine is pretty simple. In the morning I like to begin by cleaning my face with a gentle cleanser. I use micellar water when I’m feeling lazy because you don’t have to rinse it off! But on days I want to put the extra effort in, I use a gentle cleanser that won’t dry out my sensitive skin. I’m very prone to dry skin so it’s really important to me that I don’t aggravate it!! Then I follow up with my toe water facial spray. It smells AMAZING and makes my skin feels nice. Then I use my eye gel cream because that it really helps minimize the bags under my eyes (over time) and I’m trying to prevent the dreaded undereye fine lines. Next is my facial moisturizer that contains sunscreen. Where I live, it is very sunny for most of the year so having sunscreen on my skin is a MUST. Again trying to avoid fine lines and wrinkles (and can’t forget skin cancer!!).

For my nighttime routine, I usually complete this right before I go to bed. It feels incredibly relaxing to climb into bed with a clean face. Again, I start with a cleanser. I use micellar water first if I wore make up and then follow up with a little bit stronger cleanser. If I’m feeling lazy, again, I just use the micellar water. Again, I apply my eye gel cream (the manufacturer instructions say to apply 2x a day) and follow up with a facial moisturizer. Since my skin is prone to becoming dry and my skin won’t be exposed to UV rays while I’m sleeping, I use a heavier duty nighttime moisturizer. It’s give my skin plenty of hydration while I sleep and prevents dry patches on my face. And that’s it for my daily routine! Once or twice a week (usually twice) I’ll apply a face mask after my cleansing my face and before applying any cream or moisturizer. Using a face mask is not only fun, but I’ve noticed a HUGE difference in my skin since I’ve started using them. A lot less breakouts and just an overall better appearance.

So now for my list of my favorite products! Most I bought at a regular grocery store like Safeway or Fred Meyers, but some I splurged on.

– Cleansers –

Garnier SkinActive Micellar Cleansing Water

I’ve said before, this is my go-to for lazy days. Easy, simple, effective.

Garnier SkinActive Micellar Cleansing Water, For All Skin Types, 13.5 Fl. Oz (1 Count)

Garnier SkinActive Milk Face Wash with Rose Water

Perfect for when my skin is already dry. Doesn’t strip it of it’s natural oils, but leaves my skin feeling clean.

Garnier SkinActive Milk Face Wash with Rose Water, 6.7 fl. oz.

Garnier SkinActive Exfoliating Face Scrub with Green Tea

I use this maybe 3x a week because it does have a tendency to make my skin feel dry, but it does help get a really deep clean.

Garnier SkinActive Exfoliating Face Scrub with Green Tea, Oily Skin, 5 fl. oz.

ELEMIS Superfood Facial Wash

This is a splurge item for me that I’ve recently started using. It doesn’t leave my skin feeling dry, but it does an excellent job clearing up break-outs.

ELEMIS Superfood Facial Wash - Nourishing, Nutrient-dense Gel Cleanser, 5 fl. oz.

– Toner –

Measurable Difference Rosewater Facial Mist

This is the only toner I’ve ever tried and I LOVE it. Smells heavenly and makes my skin feel amazing.

– Eye Cream –

Cetaphil Hydrating Eye Gel-Cream With Hyaluronic Acid

Only eye cream I’ve ever tried, but using it 2x a day really helps with the bags under my eyes. I’ve even got my sister hooked on using it.

Cetaphil Hydrating Eye Gel-Cream With Hyaluronic Acid - Designed to Deeply Hydrate, Brighten & Smooth Under-Eye Area - For All Skin Types - Hypoallergenic & Suitable for Sensitive Skin - 0.5 Fl. Oz

– Moisturizer –

Garnier SkinActive 3-in-1 Face Moisturizer with Rose Water

I love this moisturizer as a nighttime moisturizer in the winter. It is VERY heavy, but also very moisturizing. You can also use it as a hydrating face mask which is neat and helps a lot with very, very dry skin.

Garnier SkinActive 3-in-1 Face Moisturizer with Rose Water, 6.75 fl. oz.

Garnier SkinActive SPF 15 Face Moisturizer with Vitamin C

My favorite daytime moisturizer! Keeps my skin looking and feeling good while protecting it from the sun.

Garnier SkinActive SPF 15 Face Moisturizer with Vitamin C, 2.5 fl. oz.

Lab For You Multi- Ex Repair Cream with Witch Hazel

A HUGE splurge I’ve started using at night. It is very hydrating without being heavy. It smells good and I really, really like it, but it is spendy.

[Lab For You] Multi- Ex Repair Cream with Witch Hazel 100ml

– Face Masks –

Freeman Feeling Beautiful Facial Clay Masque Avocado & Oatmeal

My go-to face mask. It does an excellent job of keeping my skin looking it’s best and it you can’t beat the price! It works just as well as some higher end products
I’ve tried.

Freeman Feeling Beautiful Facial Clay Masque Avocado & Oatmeal 6 oz

Freeman Dead Sea Minerals Facial Anti-Stress Mask

This works the same as the mask above, but has a different scent. They honestly work the same in my opinion and I love them both.

Freeman Dead Sea Minerals Facial Anti-Stress Mask, 6 Ounce

Freeman Cucumber Facial Peel-Off Mask

I use this face mask about once or twice a month. It does not work like Biore strips and pull out blackheads, but it does pull off any dead skin that’s just lingering on your face. It doesn’t dry out skin which is nice.

Freeman Cucumber Facial Peel-Off Mask, 6 Ounce

Sand & Sky Australian Pink Clay Porefining Face Mask

Another splurge item, but it is a wonderful face mask and deserves to be mentioned. If you have the money, I would use this over the Freeman clay masks, but the Freeman clay masks do work almost as well as this mask.

Sand & Sky Australian Pink Clay Porefining Face Mask

 

These recommendations are all my own and I am not getting compensated for them in any way, shape, or form. I really do like the Garnier SkinActive line a lot as you can tell!! It’s fairly inexpensive and works really well for me.

One thought on “My Self Care Journey: Skincare Routine

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started