Something About Beau

There once was a time when I tried very desperately to drown out my emotional pain in any way I could find. At 15 years old, I participated a wide array of risky behaviors that included cigarettes, drugs, alcohol and boys to desperately erase the trauma of the sexual assaults I had experienced in the prior year. Of course, none of this helped and my entire being cried out in pain – both figuratively and literally. One night though, I desperately researched ways to alleviate my pain and stumbled across the one thing actually turned my life around for the better.

img_6413One of the various suggestions on google was an emotional support animal and I thought that was a great idea. Not only would have something to love and care for, I could also have A sense of security at night with an animal laying by my side. Considering that our family already had 2 dogs, I never thought my parents would agree. I carefully rehearsed in my head how I could present the idea of an emotional support dog so the idea would even be considered. I researched emotional support dogs until google stopping providing new information and carefully memorized the important parts that were relevant to my situation. Raising a puppy would give me something to do in my free time (instead of things I shouldn’t be doing), it would provide me with companionship, it would teach me responsibility, and it would provide me a sense of security at night. I figured my dad would be behind me on the idea, but I wasn’t not so sure about my mom so I decided to bring the idea up with her first.

When I finally scraped up enough courage to finally tell my mom that I wanted to get a puppy to my emotional support animal, I was surprised with her reaction. She listen to everything I had to say and then said she thought it was a great idea. She said she would prefer that it was a smaller breed and I had to fork up the money for the puppy and any supplies I needed. I was so SO excited to start saving money and searching for my perfect emotional support animal. I quickly found out that small breed dogs were not only difficult to find in a small town in Alaska, they also were not in my price range. Nevertheless, I persisted in my search.

I spent months scouring Petfinder and Craigslist desperately trying to find a puppy that was what I wanted. I had come across a post on Craigslist a few times over several days that had no picture and just the short description of “small breed male puppy, 7 weeks old, contact for more details”. I had passed over it because 1) there was no picture and 2) it was a male and 3) it didn’t even say what breed it was. I vented to my dad about how poorly my search was going and that I only came across that one vague post for a small breed puppy. He offered to call and see if we could get a picture – what could it hurt?

img_6410The lady who posted the ad said that the puppy was a male American Eskimo/Bichon Frise mix (DNA test later revealed he was actually an American Eskimo/Schipperke mix) and that his mom was only 10lbs and would not get bigger than 15lbs (he’s whopping 25lbs now). She also agreed to email me a picture so I could see what he looked like. When I got the picture, it was love at first sight. I told my dad I HAD to have this puppy and to ask how much was the rehoming fee and when/where we could get him. The woman replied that she lived 170 miles away, but was willing to meet us halfway if we had $80 and could get him that day. We quickly agreed, got in the car, and headed towards our meet-up spot.

The whole car ride I was practically vibrating with excitement. I couldn’t stop talking to my mom about possible names for my new puppy. I debated between Teddy, Bear, and a few others. My mom suggest “Beau” because it meant “boyfriend” and it would be funny to say he was my new beau. I thought it was cute but wasn’t overly thrilled with it. We both agreed that it might be better to wait until I saw him in person to name him.img_6411

I’ll never forget when I first saw him in person. The woman stepped out her car and in her hands was a tiny black ball of fluff. My face lit up and I couldn’t hand her the money quickly enough. I grabbed him from her and thanked her over and over again. The whole car ride home with my new baby, he slept on my lap and I stroked his soft fur. At some point during the car ride I told my mom, “maybe Beau is a good name”.

That whole summer I spent with Beau was wonderful. I took full responsibility for him and refused to have anyone else help me with caring for him. I saved up my hard earned money just to buy him toys, clothes, and other accessories. I trained him to go potty outside, walk nicely on a leash, come when called, and various tricks such as sit, lay down, shake, roll over, sit pretty, and stand up. He was a stubborn-headed little dog, but every moment I spent with him was well worth it.img_6412

Caring for and training a dog gave me something to focus on that was healthy for me. He taught me patience. He taught me I didn’t need to go searching for love in boys because little Beau gave me all the love I could ever need. He guarded and comforted me throughout the night – he wouldn’t even let my family members into my room without a warning bark or growl. I also got a lot more exercise than I was getting before because I took him on walks frequently. But most of all, Beau made me feel like I actually had a purpose in life and something to live for in a time in my life where I hopelessly wanted to die. I love that dog more than I could ever describe and there’s no way I could ever thank him for all that he’s done for me. Dogs are truly a (wo)man’s best friend. ❤️

img_6409

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started